top of page

Sounds | Predatory Void - *(struggling..)

Sorry, sorry, sorry en duizendmaal excuses! Deze hadden we al een hele tijd terug moeten publiceren. Omstandigheden echter beyond our control.

Wat een intens beestje is me dat zeg. Ik ben in feite niet de grote kenner wat bands als Amenra, Oathbreaker, Wiegedood, etc etc betreft, verwacht dus geen spot on analyse want hier struggle ik mee. Niet dat ik dit nieuwe project nu absoluut in dat straatje wil duwen, wat gezien een deel van de bezetting en de machtige vocalen van ene Lina R. nu ook weer niet onlogisch zou zijn. Toch slaat de band een andere weg in, wat natuurlijk te maken heeft met het razend drumwerk van Verstrepen en de het geluid van Thijs De Cloedt. De nieuwe single is ook uit en krijgt hier binnekort vanzelfsprekend de nodige aandacht.

Seven Keys to the Discomfort of Being verschijnt binnenkort via Century Media Records.

LIVE zaterdag 29 april 2023, De Zwerver (Leffinge, BE) ... ook op Roadburn en Alcatraz!


Having recently announced their signing to Century Media Records, with a debut album on the way, Predatory Void are now giving fans a new standalone single: "*(struggling..)". The video by Jeroen Mylle was shot in the workshop of painter and visual artist Sven Verhaege, featuring make-up by Tine Josephy, concept by Lina R. and Maria Ovejero, plus mask by Maria Ovejero

Predatory Void comments: "'*(struggling..)' is about how we slowly begin to decay from the inside, trapped in a flesh prison, experiencing pain and longing for a release. Physical agony follows, amplifying despair and misery, and there is no escape."

Predatory Void came to be when guitarist Lennart Bossu (Amenra, Oathbreaker) found himself writing material that wasn't really suited for Amenra. Lennart gathered a group of likeminded people living in the area of Ghent (BE) - including the versatile vocalist and tattoo artist Lina R - and soon after, the band was born, with Tim De Gieter (bass; Amenra, Doodseskader, Much Luv Studio), Thijs De Cloedt (guitar; Cobra The Impaler, ex-Aborted), and Vincent Verstrepen (drums). Predatory Void played their first show at the renowned Soulcrusher Festival (NL) alongside artists such as Ihsahn, Envy, Cave In and Heriot, creating a buzz within the scene. With an album's worth of material already written, they signed to Century Media Records for their worldwide debut.

With this signing news, Predatory Void revealed their plans to perform said debut record - Seven Keys to the Discomfort of Being - in full at Roadburn Festival 2023. The band comments: "We feel privileged to be granted the opportunity to present our debut album, 'Seven Keys to the Discomfort of Being', in its entirety at Roadburn, one of the institutions that set the standard in the world of underground heavy music. The album contains some things that will be difficult to recreate live elsewhere, so this will definitely be a unique occasion. It will also be one of our very first live shows ever, so we can't imagine a better and more exciting start for a new band."

Predatory Void line-up:

Lina R - vocals

Lennart Bossu - guitar

Tim De Gieter - bass

Thijs De Cloedt - guitar

Vincent Verstrepen - drums


bottom of page