top of page

Sounds | Abrams - In The Clouds

Ik was van bij de eerste pompende drumroffels en stuwende baslijnen mee, moest wat wennen aan de zang, maar uiteindelijk viel ik als een blok voor dit nummer dat met een leuke vaart voorbij raast. Goed gedoseerde power met verel melodie en een immense grootsheid. Knap gedaan.

In The Dark is op 9 september 2022 verschenen via Small Stone Records.


Initially seeking to fuse melodic hooks with dissonance, Abrams began in 2013 in Denver, Colorado, with guitarist/vocalist Zach Amster and bassist/vocalist Taylor Iversen. Later joined by drummer Ryan DeWitt, ABRAMS has released an EP and three studio albums, all to critical acclaim. With each release, the listener can hear the band evolving and maturing to what it has become today. A band dedicated to compelling songwriting, and energetic live performances, Abrams ups the ante with the moody and heavy rock venture of their forthcoming LP "In The Dark". Adding Patrick Alberts (Call Of The Void) to the lineup, "In The Dark" serves as their first release as a four-piece, following behind 2020's "Modern Ways". With the pandemic canceling all touring plans for Modern Ways, Abrams immediately got to work demoing more than twenty-five plus songs for their next release. Given that the world was in lockdown, Amster took a deep dive to learn the ins and outs of home recording to refine song structure, with a hyperfocus on vocal hooks. There was a goal set to have as complete and polished songs as possible prior to entering the studio in the summer of 2021 with producer, engineer, and collaborator Dave Otero (Khemmis, Cattle Decapitation) at Flatline Audio who was the last piece in shaping the final soundscape. The new collection is a fine-tuned, forty-five-minute sonic journey detailing the angers, fears, frustrations, and joys inherent in living in a world gone mad. Their new album "In The Dark" features cover art by Robin Gnista and will be available worldwide on September 9th through Small Stone Records.

Abrams is: Zachary Amster – guitar, vocals Taylor Iversen – bass, vocals Ryan DeWitt - drums Patrick Alberts - guitar


bottom of page